The unlisted: Price 2605 var.

Note: this blog has been moved to AlexanderCoins.steffvc.com

My second shield/helmet coin! I was attracted by the beautiful rose on the obverse, together with all the other monograms I wanted to learn more about. In my opinion this coin is in acceptable condition for any collection. The obverse is better in real but the kerykeion in the boss of the shield is not very clear. The reverse has some wide scratches, maybe from cleaning, maybe from usage, I don’t know.

Kerykeion

Modern image of a kerykeion

I bought it from a German coindealer who had listed it as a coin of Lysimachos, king of Thrace after the deadth of Alexander the great. Inexperenciend as I was, I didn’t know this was absolutely wrong. It was Dane from Wildwinds.com who pointed it out to me and analysed this coin step by step for me.

Most can be learned from the reverse: the royal title of BA, the kerykeion, a rose and FIΛ (FIL). The royal title needs no further explanation (see my previous post ). The rose is quite simple as well: it’s a clear indication that this coin is from Sardis (a town in Asia-Minor, present Turkey). Not that the rose is the symbol of Sardes (the rose is a symbol for the island of Rhodos) but it’s more likely the symbol of the magistrate. Roses on this type of bronze coins are always indications that is was minted in Sardis. The kerykeion, left of the helmet, is no big surprise too: most coins with a kerykeion on the shield have a kerykeion somewhere on the reverse. The last one is the most difficult: FIΛ.

Sardis on Map

It’s not hard to imagine that FIΛ refers to one of the many Philips (Philippus). First question that arises: which one ? But, oddly enough, according to Price FIΛ was also used for Alexander the great. As I mentioned before, it was Dane from the website wildwinds.com who dug in his huge library of books about the coinage of the Macedonian empire to help me out. Too make a long story short: nowhere this coin is listed. Nor in Mionnet, nor in BMC, nor in SNG Cop and nor in Gaebler II. Conclusion: I’m the proud owner of an unlisted coin! This is far from “history changing” and not that really special but still I’m proud of it. If it shows one thing: even with thousands of pages describing coins we do not know everything!

shield/helmet

Macedonian Kingdom
Unknown ruler
Sardis

Obv.: Macedonian shield; kerykeion
Rev.: B-A across upper fields; Macedonian helmet; Kerykeion
to left; FIL at lower left; Rose at lower right.

Note: this blog has been moved to AlexanderCoins.steffvc.com

Categories: shield/helmet | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The unlisted: Price 2605 var.

  1. A fantastic blogpost, I just given this onto a student who was doing a little analysis on that. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I discovered it for him. :).. So let me reword that: Thanks for the treat! But yeah Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and enjoy learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is very helpful for me. Big thumb up for this post!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

